European Travel Information and Authorization System
ETIAS news

ETIAS Visa: What makes it different from a traditional visa

Etias Visa Waiver
ETIAS Europe

What is the Visa waiver program?

There are many differences between ETIAS Schengen visas because countries have different regulations regarding entering their borders. However, the new ETIAS will simply require you to register online and fill in an application to enter any Schengen country. It takes just a few minutes to fill out an online application. The traveler does not need to wait in long lines at the embassy.

An ETIAS Visa Waiver will have a validity of three years. To apply for ETIAS, one must have a valid passport to which the authorization will be connected. British citizens will now be able to travel freely throughout Europe without a visa. With the help of ETIAS, UK nationals can now access all 26 European countries.

If your passport is less than three years old, you will not need to reapply.

Which country’s citizens will require ETIAS?

Visa-free travelers will not be allowed to travel to Europe after 2025, unless they have ETIAS. The law, which includes British citizens, will be fully in force after the ETIAS probationary period has expired. Over 60 countries today enjoy visa-free travel to Europe, and all the citizens of these countries (UK citizens included) will require an ETIAS when the new system goes live.

What is the reason Europe has introduced a new visa waiver for citizens?

ETIAS’s goal to improve border control is its ultimate goal. Europe is realizing that this will make it easier to avoid terrorist threats.

The participating countries will share intelligence on terrorism and other security matters. It will be easier for travelers to check-in before they arrive at airports. The visa waiver program has another advantage: it is easy to apply and takes only a few minutes. Anyone can be denied entry to European countries if they do not meet the ETIAS requirements.

What are the best times to apply for ETIAS?

ETIAS is not live at present. However, visa-free travel remains possible. Currently, citizens from60 countries, including the UK,are allowed to enter the Schengen region only with a passport and relevant visa. ETIAS will be in force by 2025. All travelers who travel to European member countries must comply with it.

What is the ETIAS cost for British citizens?

The ETIAS Visa Waiver will be cheaper than obtaining a traditional Schengen visa. The fee must be paid at the end of the application using a debit or credit card. Most applications will be answered quickly. You will be emailed to provide additional documentation if a refusal occurs.